Frick Park Clay Court Tennis Club


Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


Clay Tips
Clay Rules
Clay U.S.A
Clay World
Local Tennis
Club Board


Annual Paul G. Sullivan Tennis Championships
Frick Park Clay Courts, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
July 14-25, 2010



This 2010 edition of the tournament featured:

61 players in Men's Open Singles.

20 teams in Men's Open Doubles.

18 teams in Mixed Open Doubles.

Over 100 total participants!


trophiesFinal matches, by Francois Yu

trophiesSemifinal matches, by Francois Yu

More to come ...



Daily Schedules

Draws (final results - all draws)

Press Coverage


Mike Wagner runs to return a ball hit by his opponent Matt Rogers during Men's Open Singles final of the Paul S. Sullivan Clay Court Championships.
2010 Photo by Sidney Davis, Tribune-Review



pg article

Post-Gazette coverage of
2010 Sullivan Tournament



The tournament is open to all amateur players in the Western Pennsylvania area 16 years of age and older. Players 50 years old or above can play either in the Open or the Senior Singles event, but not both. The City does not discriminate against anyone on the basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, place of birth, sex, sexual orientation, familial status, age (40 and over), or non-disqualifying physical or mental disability, or on any other basis protected by federal, state or local law. All players agree to sign a waiver of claims form before playing their first match. All players agree to abide by tournament rules as specified by tournament officials. All match schedules are weather permitting. Proceeds of this tournament are solely for the benefit of the Frick Park Clay Courts.


Men’s Open Singles
Women’s Open Singles

Men’s Senior Singles (50+)
Women’s Senior Singles (50+)

Men’s Open Doubles
Women’s Open Doubles
Mixed Open Doubles

JULY 14-16, 19-23
Weekday Matches Afternoon and Evening

JULY 17-18 (Sat -Sun)
Weekend Matches All Day

JULY 24 (Sat ) Semifinals

July 25 (Sun) Finals


All Open matches thru the quarterfinals are best of three tiebreak sets with standard scoring (weather permitting).

All Open semi and final matches are best two of three sets; first two sets are tiebreak sets. The third set to completion (weather permitting).

All Senior matches are best two of three tiebreak sets with standard scoring (weather permitting).

Men’s Open Singles will have Qualifying Draw for 8 spots on a Main Draw of 16.




2008 Photo by Kambiz Doonboli


2007 Award Winning Photo by
Andrew Stein





  • Men's Open Singles Champion: David Fink Runner-up: Allen Quackenbush
  • Women's Open Singles Champion: Katie Freedline Runner-up: Nafari Vanaski
  • Men's Senior Singles Champion: Daniel Jones Runner-up: Tom Sparta
  • Women's Senior Singles Champion: Carroll Roberts Runner-up: Meg Cooper
  • Men's Open Doubles Champions: Jacob Bezeck and Brad Wade Runners-up: Brad Kelly and Allan Quackenbush
  • Women's Open Doubles Champions: Carroll Roberts and Aldene LaCaria Runners-up: Katie Beck and Elizabeth Miller
  • Mixed Open Doubles Champions: Fran Bolanis and Brad Wade Runners-up: David Fink and Christin Glorioso



Pittsburgh Parks and Recreation:
Mike Radley (Director).
Citiparks Tennis:
Rochelle Seilhamer (Coordinator),
Tournament Director:
José Mieres

Tournament Desk and Assistant Directors:
Stephen Hirtle
Maureen Collins
Collin Waggenspack

Tournament Referees:
Al Skorupka
Barb McMullen

Promotion and Publicity:
Deb Rosen, Aldene LaCaria (Tennis Village),
Citiparks Tennis - 2010 Summer Guide and Website.
Regent Square Civic Association.

Online Registration and Webpage:
Stephen Hirtle
Ross Cooperman
Gulshan Sharma

Clay Court Preparation during the Tournament;
Scott Coatsworth, Jim Hammond, Daniel Dames, Tony Boschur, Chris
Young, Brian Weller, Dan Donelly, Luis Vargas, among others...
Volunteers are always welcome! THANKS!

Free Sunday Quickstart Clinics:
Molly Bennett
Collin Waggenspack
Jose Mieres
Anna Meyers

Tournament Ball:

Gamma ProTour Regular Duty.


Sponsored by Citiparks Tennis - Michael T. Radley (Director).

Seeding and Draw Committee:

José Mieres
Stephen Hirtle
Collin Waggenspack
Gulshan Sharma
Jake Bezeck
Meg Cooper
Maureen Collins

FPTCCTC Sponsorships:
Howard Engelberg
Deb Rosen
Mark Wallace
José Mieres
Tom Current

Negotiation for FPCCTC Adopt-A-Park Agreement with the City of Pittsburgh:
Joseph Liebowicz

USTA AMD Support:
Bob Ruzanic
Tom Benic
Fred Crawford


In August 1930 the newly constructed Frick Park clay courts first hosted the Pittsburgh Parks Championships.

In 1930 the men singles champion was Frank Broida, and the women singles champion was Jean Artzberger.

Paul Sullivan directed the Pittsburgh Parks Championships held at the Frick Park clay courts from 1930 until 2001.

From 1930 until 2001 there were no tie breaks in any of the matches and there were no age groups in any events.

In 2001 Paul Sullivan directed the tournament for the last time at Frick Park.

In 2002 Paul Sullivan, at 98 years old, put down his racket for the last time and the tournament was renamed the Paul G. Sullivan Tennis Championships.

In 2007 the tournament was relocated back to Frick Park after the volunteer restoration of the red clay courts by the new Frick Park Clay Court Tennis Club.

Frick Park Clay Court Tennis Club Sponsors:

PNC, Dollar Bank, USTA Middle States, Babolat, Prudential Realty, Harry Davis &Co, Doc Greene and Bud Wechsler, Tennis Patrons Foundation of Greater Pgh, West Penn Amateur Tennis Association, K&L Gates LL, Tennis Village, Fidelity Bank, DJ TurnStyles, Pair Networks, State Representative Dan Frankel, Gamma Sports, Allegheny Chesapeake PT, Urban Active Fitness, Mt. Lebanon Tennis Center, Club4Life, Menís Futures of Pgh, Fox Chapel Golf Club, Roseís Ice Cream, Braddock Ave Express, Calliís Restaurant, Regent Square Civic Association.




     For Questions or Comments, Please Email:


Vamos! Come on! Off your heels!

Lean in! Recover! On the strings!

Footwork! Footwork! Footwork!

  Web Content: Josť Mieres and S Hirtle
Web Editor: S Hirtle

Copyright © by FPCCTC, Pittsburgh, PA, 2007-2010

Last modified on: July 28, 2010